Chakras 101 by Timmie

The best thing you can do to keep your energetic system in check is to do a regular chakra tune-up. As our energetic “organs”, the chakras work with our physical, mental, and emotional bodies, both influencing and being influenced by our experiences, our activity, and even our nutrition.

We can’t shut our chakras off any more than we can shut our organs off, but like our physical organs, our chakras can get fatigued and depleted over time. If we’re exposed to too many low vibrational frequencies (traumatic events, poor stress management, lack of self-care), our chakras can even become blocked causing all sorts of symptoms, such as physical pain or feelings of depression.

Thankfully, there are many ways to cleanse and revitalize your chakras. My two favourite ways are with Reiki and crystals (surprise, surprise!). Both of these energy healing methods affect our chakras by lifting their vibration, clearing them, and causing them to “spin” at an optimal rate.

How Many Chakras…?

Some say that we have upwards of 21 chakras, starting below our feet and reaching far beyond the tops of our heads. Most Energy Healers however, work with the 7 Major Chakras, which most of your clients will also be familiar with. These chakras are located along the physical body (with the exception of the Crown Chakra, which is above the head), and are the easiest to work with and access from our normal vibrational state.

You can certainly work with the higher chakras if you wish, but bear in mind that they require you to maintain a much higher level of consciousness than what you may be used to. In any case, your intention is key, so even if you’re not able to sense your other chakras, you can still effectively send healing energy to them. Finally, each chakra compounds upon the other, so if the 7 Major Chakras are healthy, the ascending chakras will follow suit.

The 7 Major Chakras (Plus 1!)

The Root Chakra (red) is located in your perineum, or pelvic floor. It represents life, physical vitality, birth, and creation. It is also associated with your sense of stability and safety, your ability to create financial security and abundance for yourself, as well as all of your eliminatory organs and your body’s overall physical health. It provides energy to the spine, kidneys, bladder, and the suprarenal glands.

The Sacral Chakra (orange) is located in the sacrum, around your reproductive organs and between your hips. It is responsible for sexual energy and reproductive health; perceptions and first impressions of others; your capacity for joy and pleasure; as well as your finances, i.e., your ability to receive financial abundance. It provides energy to the reproductive organs, legs, and the glands.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow) is located between your navel and the bottom of your ribcage. This is your seat of personal power, and also a significant source of psychic intuition, which you may know as your “gut instinct”. This chakra is also responsible for all of the major organs in your torso (stomach, liver, gall bladder, pancreas), including your digestive system.

The Heart Chakra (green or pink) is located in the centre of your chest, so not exactly where your physical heart is (a little to the left of the centre), but very close. The Heart Chakra is responsible for your heart, lungs, cardiovascular system, respiratory system, and circulatory system; as well as your ability to love and be loved, give and receive, and of course your capacity for self-love and self-acceptance. It represents your emotions, love, devotion, spiritual growth, and compassion. The Heart Chakra is also connected to your arms and hands (from which we offer our service to the world, and from which Reiki healers channel Reiki.

The Throat Chakra (blue) is located at the base of the throat, and is associated with the neck, throat, ears, and mouth, as well as the thyroid gland. The Throat Chakra is responsible for your ability to communicate and express yourself clearly and with authenticity. Your ability to be creative and to “walk your talk” also stems from this chakra.

The Third Eye Chakra (indigo) is located in your forehead, between your eyebrows. This chakra intersects with your pineal gland, and is associated with your eyes and head, i.e., your optical and neurological health. It represents psychic perception, telepathy, and ESP. Many people know this chakra as the “psychic centre”, which is certainly true (just don’t forget that your Solar Plexus Chakra also plays a huge role in your psychic sensitivity). When clear, this chakra can help you make wiser decisions because it allows you to see the bigger picture, as well as see into others’ true intentions. This chakra supplies energy to the spine, lower brain, left eye, pituitary gland, nose, ears, and Central Nervous System.

The Crown Chakra (violet) is located at the crown of your head, and rather than running from front to back, this chakra runs from the top of your head, downwards (similar to the Root Chakra, which runs from the base upwards). The Crown Chakra is responsible for the unification of all of your energy centres, self-actualization, and ultimately, enlightenment. This is the seat of spirituality and oneness. This chakra supplies energy to the pineal glands, upper brain, and right eye.

What About Chakra 0…?

The Earth Star Chakra (black) is located below your feet, about a foot into the Earth. This chakra is also known as the Foot Chakra, and it is responsible for supporting you in standing and living in your truth, as well as realizing and following your life purpose. Activating this chakra allows you to have your own unique life experience, and to manifest your desires in a timely manner. This is a little-known chakra, which you may or may not choose to work with. Personally, my life has been transformed by working with this chakra, and I always set the intention to ground my clients after every energy healing session by sending Reiki to their Earth Star Chakras.

Other Energy Systems

While I love the Indian (Hindu) chakra system, you need to be aware that this is just one framework with which to view the energy body. For example, the Chinese energy system views the “tan dien” as the energy centre of the body; and the Celtic energy system (based on the Avalonian Tradition) uses five, instead of seven, energy centres.

Pick one that resonates with you, and learn it well. The Indian (seven) chakra system provides an easy, useful basis from which to understand your body and communicate with your clients.

I hope working with the chakras changes your life as it has mine 🙂

Source: Find out more about [sc:redefine]™  blog co-contributor and facilitator at Timmie Policarpio. Also you can follow Timmie on instagram. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *